Hair tales

Are you one of those sentimental moms who don’t cut their children’s hair forever?  Then this post is not for you.  While I like to think I am a little sentimental, when it comes to my babies hair I am brutally honest.  Annika, our almost 18 month old, has quite a bit of hair for our family (at this age).  The problem was that the back grew in first and now the sides and top are starting to grow in.  This has resulted in a serious case of hockey hair.  Anyone who grew up in the 80’s knows what I mean.  Guys with long hair in the back, short on the sides and top.  Plus her hair was wispy, and fly-away, which made her look a little like a partially plucked chicken.  And while she’s always adorable in my eyes, I thought she could use a little sprucing up. 😉

So today while she was in the bath I impulsively grabbed my hair cutting scissors, wound up the bath ducky and did a little big snip here and a big snip there.  I think I took over 2 inches off the back.  It’s a little crooked perhaps, but we’ll remedy that over the next few days.

So how sentimental are you?  Do you save your baby’s  first curl?

Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in kids. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Hair tales

  1. Cheryl says:

    I love it Lora! She looks even more like Katrina now I think! Can you cut Nathan’s crazy hair for me? :o)

  2. Boudewina says:

    She is adorable. Love the look in her eyes…
    I did save some of the first baby hair of the boy,s. It took a long time before there was anything to cut though. I still wait too long to cut their hair.

  3. Patricia Kranendonk says:

    Yup, got little bags of baby boy curls in my jewelry box!
    Tricia

  4. Joanne says:

    Ahh, she’s adorable!!! When I see pictures like these, I miss you guys! A big kiss for the kids from Auntie Jo

  5. Sandra says:

    I was super sentimental about David’s hair and didn’t wait to cut it for a long time. I’ve got the first ‘curl’ in a little baggie 🙂
    Annika’s getting so big! I was looking at Up North pics the other day and saw you still pregnant – a lot has changed since then. She’s a cutie!

  6. joleen says:

    You did great on the hair cut, Years ago i thought i would do Rich a favor and cut all the kids hair to save some cash. He told me “DONT EVER TOUCH THIER HEADS AGAIN” So happy i listened to my mom and didnt go to beauty school would have been a failure for sure. But you did wonderful. miss ya

    • Lora says:

      Ha ha… I have done some pretty bad haircuts on the older kids. Once they were school age or maybe even before I stopped cutting their hair. DIdn’t want to humiliate them 😉

  7. Dor says:

    Yes! Every little girl needs a “bob” to deal with that funny wispy baby hair…but then…I’m giving in to my girls’ wishes for long hair…..remember how I always wanted long hair but got it chopped? ha ha. Those were the days, my friends…. No, I don’t save clippings, but then, my kids didn’t have curls 🙂

Leave a Reply

