Old paths

Isn’t it so much fun to see your kids doing something you once enjoyed as a child? Yesterday the weather was just balmy for March. It hit 74 F and the kids were off from school.  After a stint of baseball, and time on the swings they were getting a little bored and ready to come in. “No way” I said,  “it’s too nice out”.

They didn’t know what to do so I told them how when I was a kid, we raked paths in the woods behind our house and played tag, sticking to the paths. They grew excited by the idea and soon we found our rakes and started raking. It was a challenge as the branches which fell in our freak October storm were still strewn over the ground. But the kids persisted and I raked alongside them in my light-colored khakis (ain’t that always the way it is) and they filled the day with fun, following in the foot steps of their mama.

Even Annika enjoyed the fun.  She actually preferred to stick to the path so that she wouldn’t stumble over all those hidden branches and rocks.

Do your kids play the way you used to?

Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in child's play, kids. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Old paths

  1. Lora, I don’t remember doing that as a kid! What fun!

    • Lora says:

      Hi Ange, it was probably before your time. It was in Ancaster before they built houses behind us. We used to play in the woods even though it was part of that white house’s property 🙂

  2. Sandra says:

    Oh that looks like fun! And what warm weather! And…how wonderful to have a woods right behind your house! Okay, I”ll try counting my blessings over here too 😉
    I most certainly hope David and Eva will play some of the old games we used to play – building forts inside, playing city / farm, playing store, playing church on the stairs, jumping in the leaves, shovelling mazes on the ice and building huge snow creations (those two won’t be happening over here tho…) I have such great memories!

Leave a Reply

