A place for everything….

Do you ever look longingly at these super organized homes pictured in home magazines?  The January issues are usually the worst.  All about purging, and organizing and such cute pictures of matching bins, with clever tags dangling from them.  You almost give into the temptation of running to IKEA or the Container store and buying a big system which is sure to improve your quality of life (although not your wallet)  We had a problem with all those crafty things kids like to use, like crayons, markers, coloring books, cool scissors, paper, stamps and stamp pads, stickers etc.  I like to have them near the dining room table or kitchen bar so that they will actually use them, but did not have a good place for them.

Looking around one day I saw our fairly unused wine rack with the nice tiled top which rarely held wine bottles.  Usually there were cork backed place mats, some books etc. shoved atop the wood supports meant for bottles.  What if I could convince my dear husband to cut out the bottle supports, put in shelves on an adjustable track, and then I’d make a curtain to cover up the view of my new home for the kid’s art supplies?

It turned out to be a great, thrifty solution.  When you have a storage problem it’s always good to look around with a critical eye and see if you are using what you have in an optimal way.  So often we can repurpose things, if we can get past their intended use and imagine other possibilities.

I don’t have picture of the wine rack stage but here is the transformation.

This is how it looked after Scott replaced the curved bottle holder racks with wooden shelves.  Notice, I didn’t even paint them because I was too impatient to get this done.  I had some baskets, bought a couple more at HomeGoods and we were set.

This stuff is great – spring sash.  I have never seen it in the Sates, but it is available at Canadian Tire.  It is basically vinyl coated stretchy wire/coil.

You screw an eye into the end once you have cut it to length, and then hook it on the hook which you have screwed into the wood. You can use this to hang light weight curtains, or sheers in the window.  It allows for an inside mount in the window frame.  Dutch ladies (in Canada- I don’t know about Holland) use it to hang their lace little curtains at the top of the window.

There’s the hook in the upper corner of the wine craft cabinet.

And here is the finished product.  I was being really thrifty so I dug into my bin of fabric, and remnants and found this piece which had really been part of a duvet cover.  It worked well with the room.

And there’s Katrina, using her writing supplies stored very handily behind her.

What have you done to solve your storage woes?

Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in before and after, home decorating, storage ideas. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A place for everything….

  1. Very ingenious! It looks great. Btw, I love those spring sashes- I too looked all over in the US stores, people didn’t have a clue what I was talking about, and then I had to buy it in Canada.

Leave a Reply

