To play or not to play

A topic of discussion amongst my siblings has been playing games with your spouse.  No not head games (we are all beyond such juvenile stuff)  I mean board games, card games.. whatever.  Some of us have come to the unfortunate conclusion that it does not benefit the relationship to play games with one’s spouse.  Competitive feelings arise, smugness and bitter defeat ensue.

I come from a family that likes to play games.  From the old days when Monopoly or Risk seemed the only option, unless you wanted to play chess or checkers, to more recent days with all sorts of strange games like (translated) cow-handle, settlers, dutch blitz, etc. etc.  So there was a reason that I remained rather quiet during those aforementioned discussions.  Scott and I have never (to our recollection) played a game together – with just the two of us!!!  In thirteen years of marriage the only games we played were with the kids! This however has been remedied and I am happy to announce that we are one of those lucky couples who can play a game or two together and still go peacefully to bed together. We played two games of rummikub (and I won both) 🙂

What about you?  To play or not to play, that is the question.

Lora

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in relationships and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to To play or not to play

  1. Stacie says:

    We like to play games…though it does not happen often. Never had any resulting problems! 🙂

  2. Sandra says:

    Haha! We play games together quite a bit – Rummikub tops the chart. And…we never have any problems! Neither of us ever cheat (that’d be a serious problem!) nor do we have an overly competitive spirit, and we’re probably both at the same level (as in neither of us wins more than the other). I actually think playing games shows the real person underneath! (now that’s something to chew on… 😉

  3. Dor says:

    Ha ha! You went to bed peacefully because YOU won! just kidding… ACTually, John and I can play games together with the two of us, because then you have to be nice. It’s when you’re with another couple and those guys start getting competitive and they just drive you down into the dust with no mercy, and you are shocked and hopping mad! (hey, Nic? remember those good old games?)

  4. Marcia says:

    It’s been years since David and I found the time to play a board game together, but we used to enjoy Scrabble, back in our 2-child family days. And yes, we played very amicably! Maybe we should try it again.

Leave a Reply

