What makes me happy

I discovered a little surprise the other morning. It made me smile and feel all warm and fuzzy inside.  A brother making his little sister happy….

I heard them going up the stairs, thump, thump, thump.  That night I grumbled to myself as I hauled all her dolls, plus the extra pillows and blankets out of her crib to make room for a good night’s sleep.  In the morning I saw the whole picture.  When I asked Annika about it, she explained that Jeremy made decorations for her doll party.  That kid just independently and quietly does his own thing, and often it’s something interesting or nice for someone else.  Sibling love is so precious!

IMG_9177

IMG_9185

IMG_9178

IMG_9179

IMG_9180

I knew there was a lesson for me.  I just needed to take the time to find it. Doing kind things for others for the sake of giving them pleasure, not doing them for the sake of the audience or out of obligation, that is the way to experience joy.

~ Lora

 

About Lora

I am a 40 something wife to my patient and talented husband Scott, Mom to my five children (from toddler to teen) and oldest sister to eight siblings. I am interested in too many things, love to read everything around me, and have developed a strong interest in design and renovation along with my husband. I am conservative, Christian, and by the grace of God, trying to find His way through the ups and downs of my life.
This entry was posted in child's play, family, happiness, kids, relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What makes me happy

  1. Sandra says:

    Awww…that is really sweet of him! And very creative of Annika to come up with the idea of a doll party! David and Eva often have teddies strewn all over the beds – they’re their ‘friends’ 🙂

  2. How sweet! It’s great to record these daily happenings! It’s so easy to forget the little things that kids do. I remember that Emily had two calendars for her twins, and we would write down little things that they did or said on different days. 🙂

  3. ps It’s time to change your header…. 😉

Leave a comment